Technovate Grant

The Technovate Grant supports innovative solutions to performance-related challenges, and produces new, performance relevant technology products and applications for the training and competition environment. This Grant is partnered with Mitacs and provides opportunities for young researcher-practitioners to work with NSOs in developing new performance-related technology innovations.  Priority will be given to technology innovation projects related to computer vision and specifically POSE estimation and/or motion capture.

National Computer Vision Research Cluster 

Computer vision is a focus for Canadian high performance sport.  The Computer Vision Research Cluster coordinates and guides research project planning in this area and provides recommendation to Own the Podium regarding potential projects.  The intent of the Research Cluster is to collaborate on computer vision projects to optimize transferability of knowledge and technology application between national sports, and to align research interests and funding availability.

Technovate funding is provided to projects that focus on developing new technology or significantly improving existing technology use in high performance sport. It provides protected funding to accelerate Canada’s deployment of technology in HP sport. Although technology can be viewed as a tool, it is critical to developing new products, processes, and practices.

At this point, OTP is focusing on computer vision, specifically the area of POSE estimation and motion capture. Future technology research clusters with prioritized funding could emerge in other areas as determined by the Research & Innovation Council. Other technology related proposals are possible under the Spark Grant and Technovate Grant but again, technology-related submissions focusing on POSE estimation and motion capture will be prioritized. 

Funding Available: 

  • Funding starts at $15,000 

  • PhD grants – (up to) $106,666 

  • Post-Doctoral – (up to) $60,000 

Project Duration 

Up to 4 years

Eligible Research & Innovation Themes:

  • Sport Technology & Engineering

Submission Deadline:

  • January 31st (annually)
  • Successful applications will be contact by March 1st

Year-End Reporting

  • Annual Report due March 15th
  • Final Report & Presentation (SPIN Summit)

Application Instructions: 

  • Select the appropriate application for which you will apply (Spark, Accelerate, Technovate)
  • For Accelerate and Technovate grants, a student(s) has been secured to undertake the research
  • Prepare a Gantt chart with clear milestones that can be gauged to track progress
  • Prepare a detailed budget with total budget income and total budget costs
  • Download Project Rationale Form and complete with the description of proposed research
  • Click the “apply now” button.   Fill in the application online and attach your Project Rationale Form


Technovate Grant


Frequently Asked Questions

Projects with a focus on technology innovation in high performance sport will be received via the Sport Scientist Canada submission portal.  Submissions will be reviewed internally by an OTP Panel. Projects with a specific focus on computer vision will be review by the Computer Vision  Research Cluster Committee (RCC). The application package has set questions that closely match the assessment criteria of Accelerate grants. Successful projects must have a research student(s) and a supervising professor at a partner university or universities.
Technovate funding is provided to projects that focus on developing new technology or significantly improving existing technology use in high performance sport. It provides protected funding to accelerate Canada’s deployment of technology in HP sport. Although technology can be viewed as a tool, it is critical to developing new products, processes, and practices.
The area of computer vision has a significant presence in high performance sport and can play a major role in performance analysis and real-time feedback to coaches and athletes. A research cluster approach mimics best practices in Canada in other business and research sectors. It capitalizes on the collective expertise of COPSIN and partner universities, leveraging access to new knowledge and growing our next generation of skilled researchers and applied practitioners. It supports collaboration and a growth mindset, reducing redundant research and optimizing transfer of knowledge within and between sport in Canada.
Yes. Commercial third-party partnerships are often an important requirement for breakthrough technology. Technovate grants and RCCs in general support commercial partnerships but require research contracts that outlines nondisclosure, publication permissions, intellectual and commercialization rights. 

RCCs supports Canadian commercial partnerships as a priority and ones that can transfer its application to one or more sports. 
 
CPC logo
Canadian Olympics Committee Logo
Own The Podium Logo
Sport Institute Network Logo
Mitacs Logo
Government of Canada Logo

Subvention Technovate

La subvention Technovate appuie les solutions innovantes aux défis liés à la performance et crée de nouveaux produits et applications technologiques liés à la performance pour l’environnement d’entraînement et de compétition. Cette subvention est établie en partenariat avec Mitacs et procure des opportunités aux jeunes chercheurs-praticiens de travailler avec des ONS pour développer de nouvelles innovations technologiques liées à la performance. Les projets d’innovation technologiques reliés à la vision par ordinateur, plus spécifiquement l’estimation de pose et/ou la capture de mouvement, auront la priorité.

Pôle de recherche national sur la vision par ordinateur

La vision par ordinateur est un secteur de priorité dans le sport de haut niveau. Le pôle de recherche de vision par ordinateur coordonne et guide la planification des projets de recherche dans ce secteur et fournit des recommandations à À nous le podium au sujet de projets potentiels. L’intention du pôle de recherche est de collaborer dans le cadre de projets de vision par ordinateur pour optimiser le transfert des connaissances et l’application de la technologie entre sports nationaux, en plus d’aligner les thèmes de recherche et la disponibilité de financement.

Le financement Technovate est offert aux projets axés sur le développement de nouvelles technologies ou d’amélioration importante de technologie existante dans le sport de haut niveau. Il fournit un financement protégé pour accélérer le déploiement de technologie dans le sport de HP au Canada. Bien que la technologie puisse être considérée comme un outil, elle est essentielle au développement de nouveaux produits, processus et pratiques. 

En ce moment précis, ANP se concentre sur la vision par ordinateur, particulièrement l’estimation de pose et la capture de mouvement. Des pôles de recherche technologique futurs avec financement prioritaire pourraient émerger dans d’autres domaines, tels que déterminés par le conseil de recherche et d’innovation. D’autres propositions de recherche technologique sont possibles dans le cadre des subventions Spark et Technovate mais cependant, les demandes technologiques axées sur l’estimation de pose et la capture de mouvement auront la priorité. 

Soumettez votre expression d'intérêt pour le comité MCAT avant le vendredi 27 janvier 2023.

Montant de financement disponible

  • Financement minimum 15 000 $
  • Subventions pour doctorat : jusqu’à 106 666 $
  • Recherches postdoctorales : jusqu’à 60 000 $

Durée du projet

Jusqu’à 4 ans

Thèmes de recherche et d’innovation admissibles :

  • Technologie du sport et ingénierie

Date limite de demande

  • 31 janvier (à chaque année)
  • Les candidatures retenues seront contactées avant le 1 mars

Rapports de fin d’exercice

  • Rapport annuel – le 15 mars
  • Rapport final et présentation (Conférence SPIN)

Liste de contrôle pour la demande :

  • Choisir la subvention qui convient le mieux à votre demande (Spark, Accelerate, Technovate)
  • Pour les subventions Accelerate et Technovate, un•e étudiant•e (ou des étudiants) sont disponibles pour effectuer la recherche
  • Préparer un diagramme de Gantt qui modélise la réalisation du projet à l’aide de tâches clairement établies
  • Préparer un budget détaillé incluant les revenus et coûts totaux budgétés
  • Télécharger le formulaire de justification du projet et compléter en décrivant la recherche proposée
  • Utiliser le bouton « FAIRE UNE DEMANDE ». Remplir la demande en ligne et y joindre votre Formulaire de justification du projet.


Subvention Technovate


Foire Aux Questions

Les projets axés sur des innovations technologiques dans le sport de haut niveau seront reçues par le portail de soumission de Sciences du sport Canada. Les demandes seront examinées à l’interne par un panel d’ANP. Les projets spécifiquement axés sur la vision par ordinateur seront examinés par le comité du pôle de recherche (CPR) de vision par ordinateur. La trousse de demande contient des questions qui correspondent étroitement aux critères d’évaluation des subventions Accelerate. Les projets retenus doivent inclure au moins un étudiant faisant de la recherche et un professeur superviseur d’une université partenaire.

Le financement Technovate est fourni aux projets axés sur le développement de nouvelles technologies ou d’amélioration importante de technologie existante dans le sport de haut niveau. Il fournit un financement protégé pour accélérer le déploiement de technologie dans le sport de HP au Canada. Bien que la technologie puisse être considérée comme un outil, elle est essentielle au développement de nouveaux produits, processus et pratiques.

Le domaine de la vision par ordinateur est très présent dans le sport de haut niveau et peut jouer un rôle important dans l’analyse de la performance et offrir une rétroaction en temps réel aux entraîneurs et aux athlètes. Une approche de pôle de recherche imite les meilleures pratiques des secteurs des affaires et de la recherche au Canada. Il tire profit de l’expérience collective du RISOP et des universités partenaires, mettant en valeur l’accès à de nouvelles connaissances et en favorisant la croissance de la prochaine génération de talentueux chercheurs et de praticiens appliqués. Il appuie la collaboration et la mentalité de croissance, réduit la redondance en recherche et optimise le transfert des connaissances au sein et entre les sports canadiens.
Oui. Les partenariats commerciaux avec des tierces parties sont souvent un élément important des percées technologiques. En général, les subventions Technovate et les CPR appuient les partenariats commerciaux mais exigent que les contrats de recherche décrivent la confidentialité, les permissions de publication et les droits de propriété intellectuelle et de commercialisation.   
 
Les CPR appuient les partenariats commerciaux canadiens en priorité, notamment ceux qui créent des applications transférables à un ou plusieurs sports.
 
CPC logo
Canadian Olympics Committee Logo
Own The Podium Logo
Sport Institute Network Logo
Mitacs Logo
Government of Canada Logo