Relative Energy Deficiency in Sport (RED-S)

Relative Energy Deficiency in Sport (RED-S), a syndrome identified and supported by the International Olympic Committee1, characterizes a range of negative health and performance outcomes that result from prolonged (>weeks to months) low energy availability (EA2). Low EA (LEA) is defined as insufficient dietary energy intake in relation to energy cost of exercise, ultimately failing to cover the energy cost to optimally support other important body functions (e.g. growth, recovery, bone health etc.). An athlete may develop LEA and subsequently, RED-S intentionally (eating disorders, disordered eating behaviour, or failed attempts to manage body weight and composition) or by accident (inability or lack of knowledge to consume a sufficient amount of calories to match high training loads3). Prolonged LEA is known to impair endocrine function (low female and male sex hormones), bone health (including upwards of a 4.5x increased risk of stress fractures in elite runners4) as well as have negative effects on the cardiovascular system, illness and injury, and performance outcomes1.

Due to its ability to widely affect athlete health and performance, RED-S is currently a challenge amongst all female and male athletes, over all ages and across all sports. In 2019, Own the Podium (OTP) recognized RED-S, along with concussion and musculoskeletal injuries, as one of the 3 key initiatives around Return to Health & Performance and as a result, put together the National RED-S Committee as part of the new High Performance Advisory Council (Performance Sciences).  As further outlined below, the Committee aims to create a national strategy to help prevent, identify/diagnose, and treat RED-S in Canadian athletes. The focus will be specifically in creating a detection toolkit and/or protocols for treatment. Furthermore, the aim will be to educate Canadian athletes, coaches and parents on RED-S and ultimately reduce incidence. Finally, the committee will target specific research to better understand incidence of RED-S in Canada and evaluate intervention strategies to support athlete health and performance.

About the work the program/committee is doing

The Committee is currently working on: 

  • Creating a RED-S website to educate and increase awareness of RED-S among athletes and their support team
  • Creating an education module aimed at athletes as well as health care practitioners with the aim of preventing RED-S and enhancing early treatment of potential RED-S cases
  • Research around the prevalence and symptoms as well as treatment of RED-S in Canadian development and elite athletes across summer and winter Olympic sports with the goal of more efficient early detection via development of novel screening tools as well as evaluate potential treatment strategies for optimal Return To Performance in athletes with RED-S
  • Eventually, based on the work above, the goal will be to create a RED-S Sports Best Practices strategy document that can be appropriately adapted to each sport as required

Frequently Asked Questions

RED-S is an extension of the Female Athlete Triad. The Triad describes a relationship between 3 main factors: 1) low energy availability, 2) menstrual dysfunction and 3) poor bone health in female athletes. RED-S incorporates the elements and existing science of the Triad but emphasizes that this is in fact a much larger phenomenon that can affect both female and male athletes and result in a number of impairments in health and performance, beyond the female reproductive and bone systems.
 
No. RED-S is a result of long-term LEA and anyone with LEA can develop symptoms of RED-S. Thus, RED-S can and has been reported in female and male athletes, across endurance, aesthetic, weight category, power and team sports. No athlete is immune to the effects of long term LEA; however it is likely that females in general may be more sensitive to the effects of LEA compared to males, due to differences in the endocrine system between sexes.
 
It can be challenging to diagnose RED-S as research is still developing. Indeed, RED-S is a diagnosis of exclusion and can manifest differently in different individuals. For example, in females, menstrual dysfunction is a relatively common symptom of potential underlying LEA and RED-S, but other possibilities must be considered and follow up with a physician experienced with this diagnosis is recommended.
In females, menstrual dysfunction (no bleeding) for three consecutive months can be a sign of LEA and RED-S. In both sexes, weight loss may be a sign or LEA. Some other symptoms can include poor recovery, fatigue, inability to concentrate, poor or a prolonged plateau in performance and impaired training adaptation as well as changes in sleep and mental health. It is important to understand that not every athlete will necessarily experience all of these symptoms and that other underlying factors may also explain some symptoms (for example, fatigue may be caused by RED-S, but it may also be a result of overtraining or low iron stores). Currently, a medical assessment (which may include blood work) is recommended to help confirm diagnosis.
 
Yes. An athlete can develop LEA and as a result, RED-S, even if they eat until they are full. This is especially true for some endurance athletes or male team sport athletes who may expend thousands of calories per day in training and without purposefully choosing high-calorie foods, may risk developing LEA. Remember that LEA is an imbalance between energy intake and expenditure, and therefore, either low calorie intake or high training loads, can lead to the development of LEA.
 
Yes. While weight loss can be an early sign of LEA, not all athletes will lose weight with LEA. This may be due to the fact that the body is very smart in protecting itself from caloric deficit (an adaptation developed a long time ago when food was at time scarce, and humans had to survive long stretches of poor food availability). Therefore, in some athletes, LEA may lead to a condition called metabolic adaptation, where the body will expend fewer calories at rest and during exercise to minimize energy expenditure to match it with lower energy intake from dietary sources. These athletes can still experience the negative consequences of RED-S.


References

1.Mountjoy M, Sundgot-Borgen JK, Burke LM, et al. IOC consensus statement on relative energy deficiency in sport (RED-S): 2018 update. Br J Sports Med. 2018;52(11):687-97.

2.Loucks AB, Kiens B, Wright HH. Energy availability in athletes. J Sports Sci. 2011;29 Suppl 1:S7-15.

3.Stellingwerff T, Heikura IA, Meeusen R, et al. Overtraining Syndrome (OTS) and Relative Energy Deficiency in Sport (RED‑S): Shared Pathways, Symptoms and Complexities. Sports Med. 2021. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40279-021-01491-0

4.Heikura IA, Uusitalo ALT, Stellingwerff T, et al. Low Energy Availability Is Difficult to Assess but Outcomes Have Large Impact on Bone Injury Rates in Elite Distance Athletes. Int J Sport Nutr Exerc Metab. 2018;28(4):403-11.

Le déficit énergétique relatif dans le sport (RED-S) 

Le déficit énergétique relatif dans le sport (RED-S), un syndrome reconnu et appuyé par le Comité international olympique1, se caractérise par une série d’effets négatifs sur la santé et les performances à la suite d’une période prolongée (de plusieurs semaines ou mois) de faible disponibilité énergétique (DÉ2). Une faible DÉ (FDÉ) est définie comme un apport énergétique alimentaire insuffisant par rapport à la dépense énergétique à l’entraînement, ce qui empêche le corps de répondre de façon optimale au coût énergétique des autres fonctions corporelles essentielles (p. ex. la croissance, la récupération, la santé osseuse). Un athlète peut développer une FDÉ puis un RED‑S, soit de façon intentionnelle (troubles des conduites alimentaires, comportements alimentaires problématiques ou tentatives infructueuses de gérer son poids et sa composition corporelle), soit de façon accidentelle (incapacité ou manque de connaissances pour consommer une quantité suffisante de calories équivalant à une charge élevée d’entraînement3). Une FDÉ prolongée altère le fonctionnement du système endocrinien (baisse des hormones sexuelles femelles et mâles), la santé osseuse (y compris un risque de fracture de stress de 4,5 fois supérieur chez les coureurs d’élite4) ainsi que des effets négatifs sur le système cardiovasculaire, les maladies, les blessures et les performances1).

Comme il peut grandement affecter la santé et les performances d’un athlète, le RED‑S est actuellement un défi pour tous les athlètes, peu importe le sexe, l’âge et le sport. En 2019, À nous le podium (ÀNP) a reconnu le RED‑S, de même que les commotions cérébrales et les blessures musculo-squelettiques, comme l’un des trois enjeux clés du Retour à la santé et à la performance. En conséquence, ÀNP a mis sur pied le Comité national sur le RED‑S dans le cadre du nouveau Conseil consultatif de la haute performance (Sciences de la performance). Tel qu’expliqué ci‑dessous, le Comité cherche à élaborer une stratégie nationale visant à prévenir, détecter, diagnostiquer et traiter le RED‑S chez les athlètes canadiens en mettant l’accent sur la création d’une trousse de détection et/ou de protocoles de traitement. En outre, son but sera de sensibiliser les athlètes canadiens, les entraîneurs et les parents au RED‑S afin d’en réduire l’incidence. Enfin, le comité ciblera des recherches spécifiques pour mieux comprendre l’incidence du RED‑S au Canada et évaluer les stratégies d’intervention permettant d’appuyer la santé et les performances des athlètes.

Le travail du programme et du comité

Initiatives actuelles du Comité :

  • Développer un site web pour éduquer et sensibiliser davantage les athlètes et les équipes de soutien intégré au RED‑S.
  • Créer un module d’éducation destiné aux athlètes et aux professionnels de la santé dans le but de prévenir le RED‑S et d’améliorer le traitement précoce des cas potentiels de RED‑S.
  • Mener des recherches sur la prévalence, les symptômes et le traitement du RED‑S chez les athlètes canadiens en développement et d’élite dans les sports olympiques d’été et d’hiver, dans le but d’améliorer la détection précoce du RED‑S en créant de nouveaux outils de dépistage, en plus d’évaluer les stratégies de traitement potentielles pour un retour optimal à la performance chez les athlètes affectés par un RED‑S.
  • Éventuellement, en s’appuyant sur les initiatives ci‑dessus, le but est de créer un document stratégique des meilleures pratiques sportives pour le RED‑S qui pourra s’adapter à chaque sport en fonction de ses besoins.

Foire aux questions

Le RED‑S est une extension de la triade de l’athlète féminine. La triade décrit une relation entre trois facteurs principaux : 1) une faible disponibilité énergétique, 2) un cycle menstruel anormal et 3) une mauvaise santé osseuse chez les athlètes féminines. Le RED‑S reprend les éléments et les données scientifiques existantes de la triade, mais souligne qu’il s’agit en fait d’un phénomène beaucoup plus large qui peut affecter les athlètes de sexe féminin et masculin et entraîner un certain nombre de conséquences néfastes s sur la santé et les performances, qui vont bien au‑delà des systèmes reproducteur et osseux des femmes.
 
Non. Le RED‑S est le résultat d’une FDÉ sur une longue période et toute personne aux prises avec une FDÉ peut développer des symptômes de RED‑S. Ainsi, le RED‑S a été détecté chez les athlètes de sexe féminin et masculin dans les sports d’endurance, les sports esthétiques, les sports à catégorie de poids, les sports de force et les sports d’équipe. Aucun athlète n’est à l’abri des effets à long terme d’une FDÉ; cependant, il est probable que les femmes en général soient plus sensibles aux effets d’une FDÉ que les hommes, et ce, en raison des différences dans le système endocrinien entre les sexes.


 
Il peut être difficile de diagnostiquer le RED‑S, car la recherche dans ce domaine évolue encore. En fait, le RED‑S est un diagnostic d’exclusion et peut se manifester différemment chez différentes personnes. Par exemple, chez les femmes, un cycle menstruel anormal est un symptôme relativement courant qui peut être attribuable à une FDÉ et au RED‑S, mais il faut tenir compte d’autres possibilités et un suivi auprès d’un médecin expérimenté dans ce diagnostic est recommandé.
Chez les femmes, l’absence des règles (aménorrhée) pendant trois mois consécutifs peut être un signe de FDÉ et du RED-S. Chez les deux sexes, la perte de poids peut être un signe de FDÉ. D’autres symptômes peuvent inclure une mauvaise récupération, la fatigue, une incapacité à se concentrer, un plateau de performances ou des performances médiocres, une difficulté à s’adapter à la charge d’entraînement ainsi que des changements dans le sommeil et la santé mentale. Il est important de comprendre que les athlètes ne présenteront pas nécessairement tous ces symptômes et que d’autres facteurs sous-jacents peuvent également expliquer certains symptômes (par exemple, la fatigue peut être causée par un RED‑S, mais elle peut aussi être le résultat d’un surentraînement ou d’une carence en fer). Présentement, une évaluation médicale (qui peut comprendre des analyses de sang) est recommandée pour confirmer le diagnostic.
 
Oui. Un athlète peut développer une FDÉ et, par conséquent, le RED‑S, même s’il mange jusqu’à satiété. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour certains athlètes d’endurance ou athlètes masculins de sports d’équipe qui peuvent brûler des milliers de calories par jour à l’entraînement et qui, s’ils ne choisissent pas délibérément des aliments hypercaloriques, risquent de développer une FDÉ. Il faut se rappeler qu’une FDÉ est un déséquilibre entre l’apport et la dépense en énergie; par conséquent, un faible apport énergétique ou des charges élevées d’entraînement peuvent contribuer au développement d’une FDÉ.

 
Oui. Bien que la perte de poids puisse être un signe précoce d’une FDÉ, ce ne sont pas tous les athlètes qui perdront du poids à cause d’une FDÉ. Cela peut être dû au fait que le corps s’adapte pour se protéger contre un déficit calorique (une adaptation développée il y a très longtemps alors que la nourriture était rare par moments et que les humains devaient survivre pendant de longues périodes avec peu d’aliments). Par conséquent, chez certains athlètes, une FDÉ peut mener à un phénomène appelé adaptation métabolique : le corps brûle moins de calories au repos et durant l’exercice afin de minimiser la dépense énergétique de façon à refléter le faible apport énergétique provenant des sources alimentaires. Ces athlètes peuvent néanmoins subir les conséquences négatives du RED‑S.

Références

1.Mountjoy M, Sundgot-Borgen JK, Burke LM, et al. IOC consensus statement on relative energy deficiency in sport (RED-S): 2018 update. Br J Sports Med. 2018;52(11):687-97.

2.Loucks AB, Kiens B, Wright HH. Energy availability in athletes. J Sports Sci. 2011;29 Suppl 1:S7-15.

3.Stellingwerff T, Heikura IA, Meeusen R, et al. Overtraining Syndrome (OTS) and Relative Energy Deficiency in Sport (RED‑S): Shared Pathways, Symptoms and Complexities. Sports Med. 2021. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40279-021-01491-0

4.Heikura IA, Uusitalo ALT, Stellingwerff T, et al. Low Energy Availability Is Difficult to Assess but Outcomes Have Large Impact on Bone Injury Rates in Elite Distance Athletes. Int J Sport Nutr Exerc Metab. 2018;28(4):403-11.

5.José L. Areta, Harry L. Taylor, Karsten Koehler. Low energy availability: history, definition and evidence of its endocrine, metabolic and physiological effects in prospective studies in females and males