“(Mentorship is) a relationship in which a person with useful experience, knowledge, skills, and/or wisdom offers advice, information, guidance, support, or opportunity to another for that individual’s professional development.”

Berk, R. A., Berg, J., Mortimer, R., Walton-Moss, B., & Yeo, T. P. (2005) 

About CONNECT 

CONNECT is a mentorship program intended to enhance professional and personal development of sport scientists currently working within the Canadian high-performance sports system. By CONNECTing two HP members the program hopes to facilitate close relationships that provide informal guidance, coaching, knowledge-sharing, and a deepened understanding of the Canadian high-performance environment.

Why does CONNECT exist?

Any book or lecture can tell you how to do a thing. But in any craft, whether painting or writing or leadership or performance sciences, there are certain forms of knowledge that cannot be put in to polices, rules, frameworks, or succession plans – practical forms of knowledge that only the people who have experienced it can teach.

When we talk about practical knowledge, we use metaphors. We say that someone has a touch or feel for the game, an intuition for how events will unfold, an awareness of when to push on through or put it aside. When experts use practical knowledge, they are not thinking more, they are thinking less. Experts have a built-up repertoire of skills built through experience that was likely passed on by a mentor who let them come alongside and participate in thousands of situations. A textbook can teach you the principle of sports science, but a mentor shows you how to think like a sport scientist in a personal, friendly, shared and conversational way.

This is why the CONNECT program exists - to CONNECT and impart the tacit wisdom embedded in the craft of sport science to the next generation.

 What are the goals of CONNECT?

To CONNECT people as many people within the Canadian system as possible. To provide a platform for new sport scientist to learn from those who have been there before and for experienced practitioners to pass it forward and enhance the system. The holistic goal is to establish a dynamic, genuine, and ongoing learning culture across Canada that will be healthy challenge network allowing a for continual growth.

Who is CONNECT for?

Any HP Practitioner who is a member of Sport Scientists Canada and wishes to become a mentor or find one. While still under development, the goal of this program is to create a platform whereby sport scientist can sign up and declare interest in becoming or finding a mentor.  

CONNECT e-Module

The CONNECT program provides an e-module that focuses on the foundational principles of mentoring.  It is available to Sport Scientist Canada members and provides knowledge and skills regarding three types of mentor support:

  1. Skills and knowledge support
  2. Career-related support
  3. Psychosocial and emotional support

The CONNECT module also plays a critical role in preparing sport scientists for participation in other programs such as: LEAD, WiSS, and Paralympic Practitioner Development initiatives.

For the purpose of HP Certification and for maintenance of your membership eligibility requirements, please take the survey once you have completed the module.


Frequently Asked Questions

Through this module you will learn to provide newer sports science practitioners with your insider knowledge of the sport system. You will help them understand different roles and responsibilities in your profession, and you’ll help them build skills related to self and team leadership, conflict resolution and relationship management. Finally, you’ll be working to enhance your mentee’s sense of competence and identity through problem solving, counselling, friendship and acceptance and confirmation. 

There will be opportunities for “pause and reflect” activities, and you will be encouraged to keep a record of your thoughts in a “Draft Mentorship Philosophy” document.

Your Draft Mentorship Philosophy will be critical if you choose to take part in a formal mentorship program like Women in Sport Science (WiSS) or the LEAD (Learn, Engage, Accelerate, Develop) program.

The Draft Mentorship Philosophy may also be a requirement to demonstrate your competency as part of the Canada Sport Scientist High Performance Certification and could be included as part of your HP professional development plan.

« Le mentorat est une relation dans laquelle une personne qui possède un savoir, de l’expérience, des connaissances et des compétences utiles offre des conseils, de l’information et des opportunités pour contribuer au perfectionnement professionnel d’une autre personne. » 

Berk, R. A., Berg, J., Mortimer, R., Walton-Moss, B., & Yeo, T. P. (2005) 

À propos de CONNECT 

CONNECT est un programme de mentorat dont le but est d’améliorer le perfectionnement professionnel et personnel des scientifiques du sport qui travaillent présentement au sein du système du sport de haute performance au Canada. En CONNECTant deux membres de la HP, le programme espère favoriser l’établissement de liens étroits pour offrir des conseils informels et du coaching, partager de l’information et acquérir une compréhension approfondie de l’environnement de la haute performance au Canada.

Pourquoi CONNECT?

N’importe quel livre ou cours peut vous expliquer comment faire quelque chose. Mais comme dans tout métier ou art, que ce soit la peinture ou l’écriture, le leadership ou les sciences de la performance, certaines formes de connaissances ne peuvent être traduites en politiques, en règlements, en cadres ou en plans de relève. Certaines connaissances pratiques ne peuvent être léguées que par les personnes qui en ont l’expérience. 

Lorsqu’on parle de connaissances pratiques, nous parlons en métaphores. Un dit qu’une personne a l’esprit ou un flair pour le jeu, une intuition sur le déroulement des événements, la conscience de savoir quand pousser ou quand prendre du recul. Lorsque les experts mettent en œuvre leurs connaissances pratiques, ils ne réfléchissent pas davantage, ils réfléchissent moins. Les experts possèdent un répertoire de compétences acquises au fil d’expériences qui leurs ont probablement été léguées par un mentor qui leur a permis de les accompagner et de participer à des milliers de situations différentes. Un manuel de cours peut vous apprendre les principes des sciences du sport, mais un mentor peut vous enseigner comment penser comme un scientifique du sport de façon personnelle, conviviale, collaborative et informelle. 

Voilà pourquoi le programme CONNECT existe, pour CONNECTer et transmettre le savoir implicite du métier à la prochaine génération. 

 Quels sont les buts de CONNECT?

De CONNECTer le plus grand nombre de personnes possible dans le système canadien. De fournir une plateforme qui permet aux nouveaux scientifiques du sport d’apprendre de ceux qui sont déjà passés par là et pour les praticiens d’expérience de partager leur savoir et ainsi améliorer le système. L’objectif holistique est d’établir une véritable culture d’apprentissage dynamique et continue à travers le Canada qui sera un réseau où se mettre au défi de façon saine afin d’encourager une épanouissement constant.

CONNECT, c’est pour qui?

Tout praticien de HP qui est membre de Sciences du sport Canada et qui désire devenir un mentor ou en trouver un. Bien qu’il soit encore en développement, le but de ce programme est de créer une plateforme où les scientifiques du sport peuvent s’inscrire et déclarer leur intérêt à devenir mentor ou mentoré.

Module CONNECT virtuel

Le programme CONNECT procure un module virtuel axé sur les principes fondamentaux du mentorat. Il est disponible aux membre de Sciences du sport Canada et procure des connaissances et des compétences au sujet des trois types de soutien offert par un mentor : 

  1. Soutien aux compétences et aux connaissances
  2. Soutien professionnel
  3. Soutien psychosocial et émotif

Le module CONNECT joue aussi un rôle essentiel pour préparer les scientifiques du sport à participer à d’autres programmes tels : LEAD, WiSS et des initiatives de développement du praticien paralympique.

Aux fins de la certification de HP et du maintien des conditions d’admissibilité en tant que membre, veuillez répondre au sondage une fois que vous aurez terminé le module.


Foire aux questions

Grâce à ce module, vous apprendrez comment partager vos connaissances d’initié du système sportif avec les praticiens moins expérimentés des sciences du sport. Vous les aiderez à comprendre les différents rôles et les différentes responsabilités au sein de votre profession et vous les aiderez à développer des compétences reliées à leur leadership personnel et d’équipe, à la résolution de conflit et à la gestion de relations. Finalement, vous travaillerez à améliorer l’identité et le sentiment de compétence de votre mentoré à l’aide de la résolution de problèmes, de counseling, d’amitié, d’acceptation et de confirmation.
 

Vous aurez des opportunités d’effectuer des activités de « pause et de réflexion » et on vous incitera à consigner vos pensées dans une ébauche de votre « philosophie de mentorat ».

L’ébauche de votre philosophie de mentorat sera essentielle si vous optez de participer à l’un des programmes formels de mentorat comme les ceux des Femmes dans les sciences du sport (WiSS) ou LEAD (Learn, Engage, Accelerate, Develop).

L’ébauche de votre philosophie de mentorat pourrait également être un prérequis pour démontrer votre compétence dans le cadre de la certification de haute performance de Sciences du sport Canada et pourrait faire partie de votre plan de perfectionnement professionnel de HP.