About LEAD

LEAD is a leadership-training program for experienced sport scientists currently working within the Canadian high performance sports system. The LEAD program recognizes the importance of collaboration and a unified multi-disciplinary approach in creating a sustainable better than world-class high performance environment.

Frequently Asked Questions

LEAD stands for Learn, Engage, Accelerate, Develop.  
Canada recognises that leadership is not just a difference maker, it is the difference maker in high performance sport. Exceptional leaders are the catalyst for elite performance. They enable individuals to achieve things that they would not achieve on their own. Leaders take athletes beyond talent. More importantly, truly effective leaders have an unyielding passion to get better every day. That is why this LEAD program exists. 
LEAD provides current sport scientists the opportunity to examine leadership of self and others within the context of a competitive high performance environment. Consideration is given to the role and impact of values in shaping a responsible and safe approach to working with, and leading others in an integrated support team. Learners will explore and practice communication skills, oral and written, to affect change within the high performance environment.  
The program includes two, two-day workshops, each followed by two months of online reflective assignments, webinars, peer group discussion forums and one-on-one meetings with instructor, mentor and/or mentee. In total, the program will last for approximately six months. 
Experienced sport scientists working in the context of high performance sport within Canada. Nomination criteria may vary with each cohort; however, LEAD targets Leader and Senior sport scientists, and experienced Practitioner sport scientists with leadership roles who are moving towards being Senior sport scientists. Participants are selected based on their leadership experiences and their current and future contributions to high performance sports in Canada.  
  • How to lead an integrated support team (IST)  

  • Engage in mentorship best practices in terms of personal leadership goals, operational goals & strategic management directions  

  • Build productive and professional relationships with coaches, IST members and drive a culture that helps others do the same  

  • Prepare IST members to understand and feel comfortable with ambiguity and uncertainty  

  • Play a key role in setting and enacting a clear vision and mission for the team and organization within which you operate 


How to Apply

Application process includes: 

  1. Leadership Profile: 
    • Written profile highlighting leadership experience 
  2. Intent:  
    • Written statement indicating ability complete curriculum modules within stated timeline 
  3. Endorsement: 
    • Written endorsement from Performance Services Director at COPSIN location and/or from NSO High Performance Director 
  4. Mentorship: 
    • A signed acknowledgment of support from recognized (trained) mentor 

Applications will be received and reviewed once per year and will be notified of successful / unsuccessful application 3 months before the course start date.

À propos de LEAD

 LEAD est un programme de formation en leadership destiné aux scientifiques du sport chevronnés qui travaillent actuellement dans le système sportif canadien de haute performance. Le programme LEAD reconnait l’importance de la collaboration et d’une approche multidisciplinaire unifiée pour créer et maintenir un environnement de haute performance supérieur au calibre mondial.

Foire aux questions

LEAD veut dire Learn (apprendre), Engage (engager), Accelerate (accélérer) et Develop (perfectionner).
 
Le Canada reconnait que le leadership n’est pas qu’un élément; il fait toute la différence dans le sport de haute performance. Les leaders exceptionnels sont le catalyseur de la performance d’élite. Ils permettent aux personnes de réaliser des choses qu’elles n’auraient pas pu réaliser seules. Les leaders élèvent les athlètes au-delà du talent. Plus important encore, les leaders réellement efficaces ont un désir inébranlable de faire mieux chaque jour. C’est pourquoi le programme LEAD existe.
 
Le programme LEAD offre aux scientifiques du sport actuels la possibilité de réfléchir à leur leadership et celui des autres dans le contexte d’un environnement compétitif de haute performance. Le rôle et la portée des valeurs sont pris en considération dans l’élaboration d’une approche responsable et sûre pour collaborer avec les autres, et occuper un rôle de leadership au sein d’une équipe de soutien intégrée. Les apprenants exploreront et pratiqueront les habiletés de communication, à l’oral comme à l’écrit, dans le but d’apporter des changements au sein de l’environnement de haute performance.
 
Le programme comprend deux ateliers de deux jours, chacun suivi de deux mois de travaux de réflexion, de webinaires, de forums de discussion entre pairs et de rencontres individuelles en ligne avec un instructeur, un mentor et/ou un mentoré. Au total, le programme durera environ six mois.
 
Le programme s’adresse aux scientifiques du sport de haute performance chevronnés qui travaillent au Canada. Les critères de sélection peuvent varier en fonction de chaque cohorte; toutefois, le programme LEAD cible les praticiens seniors et leaders ainsi que les praticiens expérimentés occupant des rôles de leadership et se rapprochant du statut de scientifique du sport senior. Les participants sont sélectionnés d’après leurs expériences de leadership et leurs contributions actuelles et futures au sport de haute performance au Canada.
 
  • Comment diriger une équipe de soutien intégrée (ESI);
  • L’intégration des meilleures pratiques de mentorat en termes d’objectifs personnels de leadership, d’objectifs opérationnels et d'orientations stratégiques de gestion;
  • Comment bâtir des relations productives et professionnelles avec les entraîneurs et les membres de l’ESI, et développer une culture qui aide les autres à faire de même;
  • Préparer les membres de l’ESI à comprendre et à accepter l’ambiguïté et l’incertitude;
  • Jouer un rôle clé dans la définition et la présentation d’une vision et d’une mission claires pour l’équipe et l’organisme au sein duquel vous évoluez.

Comment postuler

Pour soumettre votre demande pour le programme LEAD, veuillez utiliser le lien suivant : https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=JgtDnZAHtUKQaROvTQP7ZwtJssidhMlImKyHWlMRCwFURTRIOE1VVVY4WFQwVE1GTERGTjhSTk02Ry4u


Échéancier

8 juillet 2021 : Ouverture des candidatures pour le programme LEAD
13 août 2021 : Fin de la période de candidature au programme LEAD
28 août 2021 : Confirmation des membres du programme, tous les candidats sont informés de l’état de leur demande.

Pour plus d’information au sujet du programme LEAD (WiSS) 2021-2022, veuillez consulter la lettre suivante.