Women in Sport Science (WiSS)

The Women in Sport Science (WiSS) Mentorship Program has been designed to provide women sport scientists, particularly in disciplines where there is currently a lack of gender equity, the opportunity to engage with mentors in order to advance their career development and gain industry knowledge that will contribute to Canada's high-performance sport environment.


Committee Members:

  • Alayne Hing (Chair) - Canadian Sport Institute Calgary
  • Nicole Springle - Canadian Sport Institute Ontario
  • Phil Dunne - Triathlon Canada
  • Elizabeth (Liz) Johnson - Canadian Sport Institute Pacific

Our Purpose

The WiSS Mentorship Program aims to provide women sport scientists in high performance sport with opportunities to: 

  • Build a support network
  • Broaden their understanding of sport science leadership  
  • Learn from others’ experiences, challenges, and successes 
  • Develop a career plan, identify personal strengths and areas for improvement
  • Contribute to the advancement of women sport scientists in the Canadian sport system

Eligibility

Participants are selected based on their desire to advance their careers and their leadership opportunities, as well as their current and future contributions to the Canadian high performance sport system.

Eligibility criteria are as follows:

  1. HP Certified or Professional member with Sport Scientist Canada.
  2. Be a woman in good standing with relevant certification body for a sport science or sport medicine discipline in Canada.
  3. Be a practitioner working on, or towards, a leadership role in the Canadian high performance sport system
    • Employed or contracted by COPSIN, NSO, or MSO
    • Working with a pool of Olympic, Paralympic or *NextGen athletes
  4. Committed to advancing their career with the goal of a leadership role in the Canadian sport system in the future.
  5. Priority will be given to women in sport science & medicine disciplines where there is currently a lack of gender equity, especially at a leadership level. These include, but not limited to strength & conditioning, biomechanics, and data science.
  6. Be comfortable reading, speaking, and learning in English.

* NextGen definition:  athletes identified by the NSO using their validated Podium Pathway who are 5-8 years away from achieving a performance required for a podium result at a subsequent Olympic/Paralympic Games.


Application Deadlines

November 14th, 2022 : Application window opens
December 12th, 2022: 
Application deadline
January 30th, 2023: 
Program members are confirmed, and all applicants are notified of their status


Program Structure:

Mentees accepted into the program will be intentionally paired with a mentor in the field of sport science and grow their professional network alongside other mentees and mentors.


Program Dates

February 2023 

  • Mentee/Mentor pairings confirmed (via email)

March 2023 

  • Kickoff event at Sport Scientist Canada Week (in-person, mandatory for all mentors and mentees)

April 2023 to June 2023 

  • Mentees will participate in Taking the Stage®, a program run by The Humphrey Group, dedicated to sharing the tools necessary for women to communicate a leadership identity through both vocal and physical presence (virtual)

March 2023 to December 2023 

  • Ongoing mentorship and mentee-mentor pair calls (virtual)
  • Facilitated mentor and mentee training sessions (virtual)

December 2023 

  • SPIN Summit - Wrap-up and post program debrief (in-person, recommended for all participants)

How much does it cost?
There is no fee for WiSS

Interested in Becoming a Mentor? We are building a pool of mentors!

The Women in Sport Science program is designed to support mentees in advancing their careers, building their support network, learning from others’ experiences, and to further their development in high performance sport in Canada. Your support is appreciated.

  • Mentors must be members of Sport Scientist Canada.
  • Mentors must complete the CONNECT module prior to beginning the program.
  • Mentors will be paired with a mentee in the field of sport science and meet with them regularly throughout the program (bi-weekly or monthly).
  • Full participation in all online programs is required.
  • Attendance at the in-person kick-off event at Sport Scientist Canada week is mandatory, and attendance at SPIN is recommended.

Expressions of interest are accepted year round. If you are a potential match for a selected mentee, you will be contacted in January 2023 to gauge availability and interest.

Testimonials: 

“Being a mentee has allowed me to be more confident in my current role, set higher objectives for myself and has helped me discover opportunities that I was not previously aware of. My mentor helped me by guiding me in ways to enhance my toolset which increased my confidence when put in challenging situations, helped me broaden my professional network and is someone who I can get insight from when dealing with an unfamiliar situation. The mentee experience is something that I am truly grateful for and has allowed me to become a better professional in my current role.” 

-Tiffany Hunting, IST Medical Lead and Head Therapist for Judo Canada, Cohort 1 Mentee

“I applied several times before I was selected as a mentor for WISS. The wait was completely worth it. I learned so much from my mentee and the group at large in such a short time. My self-confidence has grown. I know that I can lead with my authentic voice to cultivate deeper and more impactful relationships and do work that aligns with my values in High Performance Sport.” 

-Sharleen Hoar, PhD, CMPC , CSI-P, Cohort 3 Mentor

Frequently Asked Questions

Mentors can be men or women with a passion for contributing to the advancement of women sport scientists in Canadian high-performance sport. The individual may work for an NSO or the COPSI network but may also be external to the Canadian sport system, and have valuable knowledge or skills to impart. Mentors are selected on an individual basis and evaluated on characteristics, experience, and/or attributes that complement the goals and development needs of the specific mentee. If you are interested in applying to be a mentor, please express your interest here.

“Being a mentee has allowed me to be more confident in my current role, set higher objectives for myself and has helped me discover opportunities that I was not previously aware of. My mentor helped me by guiding me in ways to enhance my toolset which increased my confidence when put in challenging situations, helped me broaden my professional network and is someone who I can get insight from when dealing with an unfamiliar situation. The mentee experience is something that I am truly grateful for and has allowed me to become a better professional in my current role.”  

-Tiffany Hunting, IST Medical Lead and Head Therapist for Judo Canada, Cohort 1 Mentee


“I applied several times before I was selected as a mentor for WISS. The wait was completely worth it. I learned so much from my mentee and the group at large in such a short time. My self-confidence has grown. I know that I can lead with my authentic voice to cultivate deeper and more impactful relationships and do work that aligns with my values in High Performance Sport.” 

-Sharleen Hoar, PhD, CMPC , CSI-P, Cohort 3 Mentor

“The WiSS program was a unique opportunity to build a strong network of sport scientists and a durable relationship with an awesome mentor. It was also the occasion to hit pause on a busy professional life to ask important questions: why am I working as a sport scientist, where am I going, what do I need to develop to get there, etc.”


-Myriam Paquette, PhD, Exercise Physiologist, Cohort 2 Mentee
 

CPC logo
Canadian Olympics Committee Logo
Own The Podium Logo
Sport Institute Network Logo
Mitacs Logo
Government of Canada Logo

Femmes dans les sciences du sport (WiSS)

Le programme de mentorat Femmes en sciences du sport (WiSS) a été conçu pour offrir aux femmes scientifiques du sport, notamment dans les disciplines où la parité hommes-femmes n'est pas encore atteinte, la possibilité de dialoguer avec des mentors pour faire progresser leur carrière et acquérir des connaissances du secteur qui contribueront au milieu du sport de haut niveau.

Les membres du comité:

  • Alayne Hing (présidente) – Institut canadien du sport de Calgary 
  • Nicole Springle – Institut canadien du sport de l’Ontario
  • Phil Dunne - Triathlon Canada
  • Elizabeth (Liz) Johnson - Institut canadien du sport du Pacifique

Notre objectif

Le programme de mentorat WiSS a pour but de proposer aux femmes scientifiques travaillant dans le domaine du sport de haut niveau la possibilité de : 

  • Mettre en place un réseau de soutien
  • Approfondir leur compréhension du leadership en sciences du sport  
  • Apprendre des expériences, des défis et des succès des autres 
  • Élaborer un plan de carrière, identifier leurs forces personnelles et les points à améliorer
  • Contribuer à l'avancement des femmes scientifiques du sport dans le système sportif canadien

Admissibilité

Les participantes sont choisies en raison de leur volonté de progresser et des possibilités de leadership qui s'offrent à elles, ainsi que de leurs contributions actuelles et futures au système sportif canadien de haut niveau.

Les critères d'admissibilité sont les suivants:

1. Membre certifiée en haute performance (CHP) ou membre professionnelle de Sciences du sport Canada

2. Être une femme en règle avec l'organisme de certification pertinent pour une discipline de la science du sport ou de médecine du sport au Canada.

3. Être une praticienne travaillant dans un rôle de leadership au sein du système sportif canadien de haut niveau, ou s'apprêtant à le faire.

  • À l’emploi ou sous contrat avec le RISOP, un ONS ou un OMS 
  • Travailler avec un groupe d'athlètes olympiques, paralympiques ou de la *prochaine génération

4. Engagées à faire avancer leur carrière dans le système sportif canadien à l'avenir.

5. La priorité sera accordée aux femmes dans les disciplines des sciences du sport et de la médecine où la parité hommes-femmes n'est pas atteinte, notamment au niveau de la direction. Ces disciplines comprennent, sans s'y limiter : le conditionnement physique, la biomécanique et la science des données.

6. Être à l'aise pour lire, parler et apprendre en anglais.

* Définition de la Prochaine génération : athlètes identifiés par l'ONS selon leur parcours vers le podium et qui sont susceptibles de réaliser, dans un délai de 5 à 9 ans, des performances leur permettant de monter sur le podium lors de futurs Jeux olympiques/paralympiques.

Dates limites de soumission des demandes 

14 novembre 2022 : ouverture de la période de soumission
12 décembre 2022: 
date limite de soumission
30 janvier 2023: 
Les membres du programme sont confirmées et toutes les candidates sont informées de leur statut

Structure du programme:

Les mentorées acceptées dans le programme seront intentionnellement jumelées avec un mentor dans le domaine des sciences du sport et pourront élargir leur réseau professionnel aux côtés d'autres mentorées et mentors.

Dates du programme

Janvier 2023 

  • Confirmation du jumelage mentor/mentorée (par courriel)

Fevrier/Mars 2023 

  • 27 février au 1 mars, événement de lancement lors de la Semaine Sciences du sport Canada (en personne, obligatoire pour tous les mentors et mentorées).

Juin 2023 

  • Les mentorées participeront à Taking the Stage® un programme offert par The Humphrey Group, qui vise à fournir aux femmes les outils nécessaires pour exprimer leur identité de leader par une présence vocale et physique (virtuel)
  • Session 1: 6 juin 2023, 1:00pm-2:30pm EST
  • Session 2: 13 juin, 2023, 1:00pm-2:30pm EST
  • Session 3: 20 juin, 2023, 1:00pm-2:30pm EST
  • Coaching: 23 juin 2023, 30 min/participant
  • Session 4: 27 juin, 2023, 1:00pm-2:30pm EST

Mars 2023 à décembre 2023 

  • Mentorat continu et appels entre mentors et mentorées (virtuel)
  • Séances de formation pour mentors et mentorées (virtuel)

Décembre 2023 

  • Sommet SPIN - Synthèse et bilan du programme (en personne, recommandé pour toutes les participantes)

Quel est le coût?
Il n'y a aucun frais pour le programme WiSS

Vous souhaitez devenir un mentor ? Nous sommes en train de créer une liste de mentors !

Le programme de mentorat Femmes en sciences du sport est conçu pour aider les mentorées à faire avancer leur carrière, à mettre en place un réseau de soutien, à apprendre de l'expérience des autres et à se perfectionner dans le sport de haut niveau au Canada. Votre soutien est apprécié.

  • Les mentors doivent être membres de Sciences du sport Canada.
  • Les mentors doivent compléter le module CONNECT (lien vers le module CONNECT) avant de débuter le programme.
  • Les mentors seront jumelés à une mentorée dans le domaine des sciences du sport et la rencontreront régulièrement tout au long du programme (toutes les deux semaines ou tous les mois).
  • La pleine participation à tous les programmes en ligne est requise.
  • La participation à l'événement en personne/de lancement de la Semaine Sciences du sport Canada est obligatoire, et la participation au sommet SPIN est recommandée. 

Les manifestations d'intérêt sont acceptées toute l'année. Si vous êtes un partenaire potentiel pour une mentorée sélectionnée, vous serez contacté en janvier 2023 pour évaluer votre disponibilité et votre intérêt.

Témoignage

"Être mentoré m'a permis d'être plus confiant dans mon rôle actuel, de me fixer des objectifs plus élevés et m'a aidé à découvrir des nouvelles opportunités que je n’étais pas au courant auparavant. Mon mentor m'a aidé en me guidant sur les moyens d'améliorer mes compétences, ce qui a accru ma confiance dans des situations difficiles, m'a aidé à élargir mon réseau professionnel et est quelqu'un de qui je peux obtenir des aperçus lorsque je fais face à une situation inconnue. L'expérience de mentoré est quelque chose dont je suis vraiment reconnaissant et qui m'a permis de devenir un meilleur professionnel dans mon rôle actuel."

-Tiffany Hunting, Responsable médical de l’ESI et Thérapeute en chef de Judo Canada, Cohort 1 Mentee

“I applied several times before I was selected as a mentor for WISS. The wait was completely worth it. I learned so much from my mentee and the group at large in such a short time. My self-confidence has grown. I know that I can lead with my authentic voice to cultivate deeper and more impactful relationships and do work that aligns with my values in High Performance Sport.” 

-Sharleen Hoar, PhD, CMPC , CSI-P, Cohort 3 Mentor

Foire Aux Questions

Les mentors peuvent être des hommes ou des femmes qui souhaitent contribuer à l'avancement des femmes scientifiques du sport dans le sport de haut niveau au Canada. La personne peut travailler pour un ONS ou le RISOP, mais peut aussi provenir de l'extérieur du système sportif canadien et avoir des connaissances ou des compétences précieuses à transmettre. Les mentors sont choisis individuellement et évalués en fonction des caractéristiques, de l'expérience et/ou des attributs qui complètent les objectifs et les besoins de développement de la personne mentorée. Si vous souhaitez poser votre candidature en tant que mentor, veuillez exprimer votre intérêt ici.
  • La demande peut être remplie en français ou en anglais. Pour accéder à l'application en anglais, veuillez vous rendre sur https://www.sportscientistcanada.ca/en-CA/Programs/Programs/Women-in-Sport-Science
  • Le programme WiSS est dispensé en anglais, avec des documents de base fournis en français et en anglais
  • Les candidatures sont évaluées sur le contenu et les idées, et non sur la maîtrise de la langue ou les choix de présentation

"Être mentoré m'a permis d'être plus confiant dans mon rôle actuel, de me fixer des objectifs plus élevés et m'a aidé à découvrir des nouvelles opportunités que je n’étais pas au courant auparavant. Mon mentor m'a aidé en me guidant sur les moyens d'améliorer mes compétences, ce qui a accru ma confiance dans des situations difficiles, m'a aidé à élargir mon réseau professionnel et est quelqu'un de qui je peux obtenir des aperçus lorsque je fais face à une situation inconnue. L'expérience de mentoré est quelque chose dont je suis vraiment reconnaissant et qui m'a permis de devenir un meilleur professionnel dans mon rôle actuel."

-Tiffany Hunting, Responsable médical de l’ESI et Thérapeute en chef de Judo Canada, Cohort 1 Mentee


“I applied several times before I was selected as a mentor for WISS. The wait was completely worth it. I learned so much from my mentee and the group at large in such a short time. My self-confidence has grown. I know that I can lead with my authentic voice to cultivate deeper and more impactful relationships and do work that aligns with my values in High Performance Sport.” 

-Sharleen Hoar, PhD, CMPC , CSI-P, Cohort 3 Mentor

“The WiSS program was a unique opportunity to build a strong network of sport scientists and a durable relationship with an awesome mentor. It was also the occasion to hit pause on a busy professional life to ask important questions: why am I working as a sport scientist, where am I going, what do I need to develop to get there, etc.”


-Myriam Paquette, PhD, Exercise Physiologist, Cohort 2 Mentee
 

CPC logo
Canadian Olympics Committee Logo
Own The Podium Logo
Sport Institute Network Logo
Mitacs Logo
Government of Canada Logo